The Journey Begins

This year in my educational journey has been both encouraging and humbling. Encouraging because my work in my Teacher Librarianship course and the George Couros workshops I attended indicate I’m headed in a direction that will ultimately be of great benefit to student learning. Humbling because with each step forward I take I discover how many strategies, tools, approaches, learnings I don’t know. All I can do is take the advice George Couros presented about two questions that can change your life:

  1. “Work out your sentence.” Find one sentence that encapsulates the core of what you aim to achieve. At present my sentence is: I aim to make students critically engage with texts to become powerful operators within the English language.
  2. “Ask yourself every day: Was I better today than yesterday?”

He also said, “Don’t stress over it. It should be something you enjoy, not lose sleep over.” Here I go!

Couros, G. (2012, October). A Professional Development Day: George Couros. Flinders University.

One thought on “The Journey Begins

  1. Focusing on yourself as a learner, will put you in a situation that you will become a better teacher. You will better understand what kids are going through and what they do and how you can prepare them for it. You are definitely on the right path 🙂

    Thanks for the mention! Here is a link to that Dan Pink video that I referenced today:

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

