Are Web 2.0 Tools Worth The Time

Between doing a Masters degree, facing the prospect of teaching full time again next year with two Year 12 English classes (I’ve been 0.8 recently), and the general crazy busyness of life, I have been wondering how I will cope in 2013 (Term 4 will be ok – LSL here I come!). Watching the video below didn’t help. A modern reimagining of Nora from A Doll’s House, it perfectly captured how I’ve felt many mornings and afternoons this year (though I should add my husband is much more involved!) and I was left feeling overwhelmed. To paraphrase Henry David Thoreau, most women lead quiet lives of desperation.

Embed code wouldn’t work. Found it on YouTube but embed code was disabled. Here is the link to the video.

So, feeling like that, I wondered how I could possibly devote time to my new tools, blogs and twitter, and my old tools, facebook and wikispaces? My answer to myself was, ‘Because they are absolutely spend time to save time tools!’ In the past week:

  • I began my preparation for the Year 12 English Communications course. Instead of spending time finding files, printing them, photocopying them, and dealing with inevitable photocopier issues, I simply went to my 12 English Wiki, did some clean up, tweaked / changed / added / deleted files as necessary because I spend the time setting up a wiki this year.
  • One of the files I added to the Wiki was a Google Form (the getting to know you link on this page), which I thought of because of the PD I went to with George Couros. So instead of printing, photocopying, getting kids to fill it out, collecting, and manually collating, I will direct them to the link, they will fill it out, and it’s will be automatically collated for me.
  • The reason I even knew about the PD was because my coordinator and I are members of the South Australian English Teachers Association facebook group.
  • I want to show my Stage 1 Media students the Stage 2 products so they have a clear idea about the expectations for next year, so I simply when to Colin McKenzie’s blog that I follow, picked the wiki and the page I needed, and have all the products at my fingertips at the bottom of his wiki page.

Now these are all tiny things and not particularly impressive, but they all add up to much more efficient management of time. When Colin and I run some PD on blogs with staff at our school I know their primary concern will be whether it’s worth their time. I hope to impress on them the fantastic collaboration that can be done via blogs that will inspire them, develop their professional learning, give them resources, and, ultimately, save them time.

Let me end this post by sharing two resources that were shared with me. The first I used with my Year 10s last week to help them examine the effect of author, context, purpose, target audience, form, and linguistic and structural techniques. The second connects with the Masters in Teacher Librarianship I’m studying. Both were shared with me by Jonathan Scobie. If you know him, you will not be surprised to find both have Buffy The Vampire Slayer connections! : )

Resource 1

Resource 2

Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Research as a Public Good

2 thoughts on “Are Web 2.0 Tools Worth The Time

  1. I think there’s a couple of blogs coming up entitled “Negotiating the Tensions” and “Paralysed by Choice”. After leaving last night’s staff meeting, and listening to a lecture on the perils of fetishising technology for its own sake in education, I felt the paralysis and needed the negotiation. But, Bec reminds me here, that all this tech stuff can make our work ‘better’ – even if it’s just in small changes and practices.
    Glad the wiki was of help Bec and keep up the good fight.

  2. I absolutely agree – Web 2.0 tools certainly have the ‘Paralysed by Choice’ danger. Also as we are always focusing on what these tools can do for students – sometimes it’s nice to look at what they can do for us.

Leave a Reply

